Mobile phones and governance

by

At Transparency International, we are working hard to get a couple of pilots on using mobile phones in anti-corruption work out this year. Related to this, I just came across this very useful Sida report (thanks @hajovanbeijma from Text to Change): The Innovative Use of Mobile Applications in East Africa (download from here).

A couple of really promising initiatives looking at citizen to government accountability in East Africa are mentioned, such as Twaweza in Uganda that plans to track school attendance, the Budget Tracking Tool and BungeSMS in Kenya, and the Kenyan government offers an SMS service through the Office of Public Communications for citizens to send information, suggestions or complaints. However, especially as initiatives in areas such as health abound, projects and tools to improve transparency and accountability are still struggling.

Johan Hellström gives a good analysis of the key challenges with the use of mobile phones in governance initiatives. He highlights this interesting point:

A challenge that is a bit more sector specific has to do with the mobile industry itself. The sector is highly competitive and privatised with profit as the primary focus. If a non profit service is launched it is usually being implemented as part of corporate social responsibility (CSR) programs in the entertainment, sports, housing, health, education and environment sectors, i.e. sectors with maximum reach out, good for marketing purposes and with few political hurdles. Good governance on the other hand is a public good. How does one attain a balance between the two? Today there are few innovative business plans that brings the two worlds together and therefore social and governance applications end up low on the priority scale of operators. Further, public service is a long term commitment, there are no quick fixes which a pilot can fix.

And the report also mentions, albeit very shortly, one of the issues I have found crucial when discussing possible implementations such as reporting instances of bribery through mobile phones. In governance related applications, anonymity and privacy is often of high importance given that in most countries bribery is an act of crime.

One of the first solutions that I know of providing the opportunity to complaint on crime in general and bribery cases in specific comes from Panama. Have a look at: http://www.mipanamatransparente.com. The project is being implemented by the Panaman chapter of Transparency International and the International Centre for Journalism amongst others.

Tags: ,

14 Responses to “Mobile phones and governance”

  1. Tweets that mention Mobile phones and governance « ACCOUNTABILITY 2.0 -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Hajo van Beijma, TTC, georg_neu. georg_neu said: Just expanded some thoughts on mobile phones and governance on my blog http://bit.ly/bPGuup (thx @hajovanbeijma) […]

  2. Some social media and technology approaches from the TI movement « ACCOUNTABILITY 2.0 Says:

    […] and related abuses. TI Panama’s mipanamatransparente.com platform (mentioned a while ago on this blog) was originally conceived to enable investigative journalist to identify important cases of abuse […]

  3. Where to buy Garcinia cambogia extract Says:

    When I initially commented I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments
    are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I recieve four emails with
    the same comment. Is there a way you can remove me from that service?
    Kudos!

  4. amazing lean garcinia reviews Says:

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.

    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will certainly return.

  5. garcinia wow free trial Says:

    Hello friends, pleasant article and good urging commented
    here, I am genuinely enjoying by these.

  6. natural ingredients Says:

    Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?

    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding
    one? Thanks a lot!

  7. Gaye Says:

    Hi there, this weekend is nice for me, as this time i am
    reading this wonderful educational article here at my house.

  8. diet garcinia forte Korea review Says:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to
    your webpage? My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and
    my visitors would really benefit from some of the information you
    present here. Please let me know if this ok with you.

    Cheers!

  9. obvious garcinia Says:

    Hi there to all, the contents existing at this website are really remarkable
    for people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  10. new movie releases Says:

    If you are going for finest contents like me, just pay a visit this web
    site all the time because it provides quality contents,
    thanks

  11. positives Says:

    Your style is unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from.
    Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll
    just book mark this page.

  12. good sauna Says:

    I’ve been browsing online greater than 3 hours nowadays, yet I never found any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It is lovely value enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the net will probably be a lot more useful than ever before.

  13. dog travel Says:

    I think the admin of this website is really working hard for his site, because here
    every stuff is quality based information.

  14. Winfred Silas Says:

    Without asking them to delete it, is there a way i can delete my own blog comments on someone else’s blog? Please help(:.

Leave a Reply

